The Treaty of Lisbon

Upon the entry into effect of the Treaty of Lisbon (on 1 December 2009), the sections of the Maastricht Treaty relating to Economic and Monetary Union became part of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (TFEU). The references to articles of the Treaty in the foillowing text relate to the numbering in the TFEU.